People of the Longhouse Book Giveaway

var fbShare = {size: ‘small’,}

New York Times bestselling authors and archaeologists Kathleen O’Neal Gear and W. Michael Gear continue the tale that began with People of the Longhouse with THE DAWN COUNTRY (Forge Books: Hardcover; $25.99; March 15, 2011), the second book of the Iroquois quartet.  An epic tale about a seminal figure in Iroquois and US history, Dekanawida the Peacemaker, The Dawn Country picks up where the first book, People of the Longhouse, left off.

THE PEOPLE OF THE LONGHOUSE series is about the first Iroquois confederacy and the legendary heroes who founded it:  the Peacemaker, Dekanawida; his friend, Hiyawento; and the “Mother of Nations,” Jigonsaseh.  Set between the years of A.D. 1430-1451, this epic tale takes readers to New York, Vermont, New Hamphsire and Ontario six hundred years ago, when five Iroquois tribes were locked in bitter warfare.  Yet the violence led to one of the most remarkable alliances in the history of America, the League of the Iroquois:  whose ideas on governemnt would literally change the world.

In THE DAWN COUNTRY, Young Wrass is being held captive along with several other children, in Gannajero the Crow’s camp.  Gannajero profits enormously by buying and selling children to outcast warriors who subject them to brutal treatment.

Koracoo, a female war chief, and Gonda, her husband and deputy have not abandoned their search.  They’re coming for the children, and they have allies:  a battle-weary Mohawk war chief and a Healer from the People of Dawnland.

My review:

While I haven’t had the time to completely finish People of the Longhouse and The Dawn Country books that I was sent, I have read enough of the first book to say that this is an all-around exciting series.  The pages will satisfy both the story lovers as well as the history buffs, due to its energy, both physical and emotional. 

THE GEARS whose first North American series hit the international as well as USA Today bestseller lists, live in Thermopolis, Wyoming.  To learn more about W. Michael Gear & Kathleen O’Neal Gear and their books, visit

Three Winners will receive both a paperback copy of People of the Longhouse as well as the brand new hardcover The Dawn Country.

To enter the giveaway visit the Gear’s Amazon Bibliography and let me another book that they have written that interests you.  You can enter daily but you must complete the above first.  Then each subsequent day you can comment with “daily entry”.

Open to US Residents ages 18+, no PO Boxes, ends March 29, 2011 at 11:59 PM CST.  Winner will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen.  E-mail must be in comment or submitted when entering.  By entering this giveaway you are stating that you have read my **Privacy/Rules statements and agree to them.

I have a material connection because I received a sample of a product for consideration in preparing to write this content.

var idcomments_post_id = ‘256’
var idcomments_post_url = ‘’;